8.5 more inches!! And a little talk about spicing up your diet.

Posted: May 26, 2011 in Recipes, Tips, YouTube

Like the title says, I lost eight and a half more inches this week which puts me at twenty four inches of total loss. That’s amazing for me to consider.  That I’ve lost two feet of fat.  In just six weeks of work I’ve lost two feet of fat from my body.  I have to assume that’s about forty to fifty pounds.  Which means I should be getting close to the point that I can weigh myself on a scale. There is a scale my wife found at Bed, Bath, and Beyond that goes up to four hundred and fifty pounds, so I’m hoping she gets it and I can start weighing myself in addition to my measuring.  Until then though, go check out the video:

Really think about good ways to add low point and low calorie flavor to the foods you eat, it can make a dramatic difference in your enjoyment of what it is you’re eating.  Also, I want to take a minute to talk about Sugar Free/No Sugar Added/etc.  I am not a fan of artificial sweeteners.  I’m just not.  I think they taste horrible, I think they do bad things to your body, and there is documented evidence that they increase your appetite.  So do yourself a favor and don’t buy these things.  Unless of course they are sweetened with natural things like honey, fruit juice, real sugar, etc.  Its much more likely to be good for you if its a real ingredient and not a chemical made in a lab.  Be smart, and don’t take what seems like the easy way out.  Work on more than just the numbers and you will be rewarded.  Think about the big picture.

Ok folks, time for that part you are always waiting for… my recipes!

Asian Chicken and Rice Casserole 2 servings, 12 points per serving

½ c long grain white rice, uncooked(6 pts)

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts(10 pts)

1 can cream of mushroom soup(4 pts)

½c chicken broth(0 pts)

1T soy sauce(1 pt)

1T rice wine vinegar(0 pts)

1T brown sugar(1 pt)

2 garlic cloves, minced(0 pts)

1T ginger, minced or grated(0 pts)

1t toasted sesame oil(1pt)

3 carrots, peeled and diced(0 pts)

1 onion, sliced(0 pts)

1c frozen peas, thawed(1 pt)

1c broccoli cuts(0 pt)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix uncooked rice with the carrots, onions, peas, and broccoli and pour into the bottom of an 8×8 baking dish. Season chicken with salt and pepper and place on top of rice. Mix remaining ingredients and pour over the chicken and rice. Bake for 40 minutes or until rice is tender.

Herbed Chicken and Potatoes 2 servings, 9 points each

400g potatoes(about 2 medium), sliced(4 pts)

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts(10 pts)

1 packet of herbed soup mix(0 pts0

1 onion, sliced(0 pts)

2 cloves garlic, minced

1T olive oil(3 pts)

1/3c chicken broth(0 pts)

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Scrub, slice, and rinse potatoes. Dry them on a towel then toss with the oil, salt, pepper, onion, and garlic. Layer in the bottom of an 8×8 baking dish and top with the chicken. Mix soup mix with broth and pour over the chicken. Bake 30-40 minutes. Serve with a nice vegetable side dish.

Mike’s All Purpose Seasoning servings vary, 0 points per serving

4 parts onion powder

3 parts garlic powder

2 parts black pepper

2 parts paprika

1 part cayenne pepper

Mix all together, pour into a shaker, and use to season vegetables, meats, soups, stews, eggs, just about anything. For a spicier seasoning, increase to as much as 3 parts cayenne pepper. For pork and chicken add 1 part of poultry seasoning, works perfectly. For a more Mexican styled seasoning you can add 2 parts of cumin powder. For Italian add 2 parts each of dried basil and oregano.

Next week I intend to concentrate a bit more on one of my favorite foods… SOUP!  Soups can be extremely flavorful and are generally low in points.  So stay tuned and look out next week for that!  Until then don’t forget to keep waging a war against your waistline…

Comments
  1. Bill says:

    Mike. Found this website for ya. Gonna try to start using it myself.

  2. Jodi Lane says:

    You’re doing so great!

Leave a Reply

