5.5″ closer to the goal and feeling great.

Posted: June 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

Here we are again, another week in and five and a half inches thinner.  I have to say I do feel really good in the two months now that I’ve been doing this. Much better than I ever expected to, and it’s also much easier than I had anticipated.  Make sure to go check out my video on YouTube where I discuss some of the changes I’ve noticed in the past eight weeks.

 

This week is fairly short and for that I apologize, but as I mentioned in my video I’ve been very busy.  So instead of expounding upon what I recorded I’ll just say… go watch the video!  And leave you with your recipes:

French Onion Soup (Makes 6 servings, 10 pts each or 6 w/o croutons or cheese)

6 pounds yellow onions(12)

6T margarine(6)

1t salt

1/2t pepper

16c beef broth(8)

2T Flour(2)

1 sprig fresh thyme

1/2c white wine(2)

6 croutons(6)

6oz swiss or gruyere cheese(18)

 

Peel the onions, and cut in half, then slice lengthwise.  Melt margarine over medium heat in a 6 quart dutch oven, and add the onions, salt, and pepper.  Sweat the onions for 10-15 minutes until they’ve given up most of their water and gone translucent.  Turn heat to low, and cover.  Cook for about 90 minutes stopping to stir every 10 minutes.  At the end of that period deglaze with a few tablespoons of water and continue cooking for 45 more minutes, deglazing and stirring every 5 minutes until the onions are very brown and soft.  Add the flour and cook for 1-2 minutes more.  Add the broth, thyme, and wine.  Simmer for 20-30 minutes.  Pour into crocks and top with croutons and cheese if desired, placing crocks under a broiler until cheese is brown.

 Greens Soup(makes 6 servings, 7pts per serving)

4 slices bacon(4)

1 large onion, chopped

6 cloves garlic, chopped

4 cans of assorted greens, undrained(4)

1 can tomato puree(1)

1 can diced tomatoes, undrained(1)

4 qts chicken broth(8)

2t crushed red pepper flakes

salt and pepper to taste

bay leaf

1/4c apple cider vinegar(0)

4oz small dry pasta(stars, orzo, etc)(8)

1 pound chicken or ham cooked and diced(15)

Cook bacon until rendered and partly crisp.  Saute onion in the bacon fat until translucent.  Add garlic and cook until fragrant.  Add all remaining ingredients except pasta and meat.  Simmer for 20-30 minutes.  Add pasta and meat and simmer 10 more minutes.

 

Chicken Noodle Soup(4 servings, 7 points each)

2T margarine(2)

5 ribs celery, chopped(0)

4 carrots, diced(1)

1 lg onion, diced(0)

salt and pepper to taste

1 bay leaf

8c chicken broth(4)

2c egg noodles(8)

1 pound cooked chicken, shredded(15)

1T dill, chopped

1T parsley, chopped

Melt margarine in a soup pot and add vegetables.  Saute until soft.  Add remaining ingredients except dill and parsley.  Bring to a simmer for 10 minutes.  Stir in the herbs and serve. You can make this Italian style by omitting the dill, 2 cups of broth, and the egg noodles and instead adding a can of diced tomatoes with juice, a can of chick peas, some whole wheat penne, and a few ounces of  grated parmesan.  This will take it up to 10 points per serving.

Comments
  1. Jodi Lane says:

    I’ll admit…back when I was encouraging you to start showing your progress I knew it would work and motivate ME too…thanks again for posting/sharing… I’ve been kicking my ass in the gym! I love the gym regardless but it helps to have others that are staying with it. ;o) Keep it up! 5.5 is AWESOME.

Leave a Reply

