Something I learned today. (Two things actually.)

Posted: June 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

I wanted to take a minute to talk about a few things that have happened to me over the course of the last week or so. First my wonderfully amazing wife schemed behind my back(don’t worry I say that in a good way), to plan a possible trip for me to GenCon. Some things are unsure at the moment and we weren’t sure we could afford it and I had to tell the person she was planning it with that we couldn’t afford to go. In turn this person, in a great act of awesomeness and charity, offered to buy us the passes. I am not naming this person because I don’t know if they want this to be advertised, but to you I say… wow. The act in and of itself was quite touching and I still am not sure how to react to it. I still have to think on whether or not I want to take you up on your offer, but I will let you know soon.

So, the thing I learned. People are just amazing. I had kind of given up on the human race a long time ago to be honest. After the local gaming store Gateway Games and More opened and the people there were so cool to me and have made me feel so welcome I started to rethink my position. Today though, with what happened… I can’t keep thinking that people suck. Because people are awesome. At least… some people are.

Also, I tried on a pair of pants today that are two sizes smaller than what I have been wearing for like three years now. My wife, again being the most wonderful woman in the world, was cleaning out our closet earlier tonight and found several shirts and a pair of jeans that I hadn’t worn in at least three years. She begged me to try them on “Just to see where you are now.” I tried them all on and the shirts mostly fit, just a bit snug over my gut, and the pants fit pretty well too. The jeans were mostly snug around my calves which I’ve been having problems with lately, but overall they were actually fairly comfortable. I’m actually kind of proud of myself at this moment even though I’ve been feeling cruddy about myself lately. So yeah… interesting day.

Comments

Leave a Reply

